Science Advisory Board

Professor Coen

Clive Coen is Professor of Neuroscience at King's College London. His multidisciplinary research includes the neuroanatomical analysis of regulatory systems. This is influenced by his longstanding interest in comparative and evolutionary aspects of these systems. He has served on the board of several learned societies and scientific journals and as chief consultant for seven BBC documentaries. Currently he is Editor of Neuroendocrinology and Chair of the Rationalist Association.


Professor Esiri

Professor Margaret Esiri is a Professor of Neuropathology at Oxford University. She has a longstanding interest in inflammatory diseases of the nervous system, such as multiple sclerosis, and in dementia. Her recent dementia research has focussed on trying to understand the significance of damage to the small blood vessels in the brain as the second most common cause of dementia after Alzheimer’s disease. She has also contributed many studies on the neuropathology of Alzheimer’s disease.


Professor Herrling

Professor Paul Herrling was Head of Corporate Research at Novartis. He is also Chairman of the Board of the Novartis Institute for Tropical Diseases in Singapore, an endeavor to advance medical research in the area of tropical infectious diseases, which historically have received little drug-research funding. Prior to this, Paul Herrling was Head of Global Research at Novartis Pharma and a member of the Pharma Executive Committee (PEC), he is a member of the Board of the Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation in La Jolla California and he serves on the boards of several other research institutions. Paul Herrling is also Professor of Drug Discovery Science at the University of Basel, Switzerland. He obtained his doctorate in 1975 at the University of Zurich and was a post-doctorate fellow at the Neuropsychiatric Institute at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

Professor Masters

Professor Colin Masters has focused his career on research in Alzheimer's disease and other neurodegenerative diseases, including Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease. His work over the last 35 years is widely acknowledged as having had a major influence on Alzheimer’s disease research world-wide, particularly the collaborative studies conducted with Konrad Beyreuther in which they discovered the proteolytic neuronal origin of the A? amyloid protein which causes Alzheimer’s disease. This work has led to the continued development of diagnostics and therapeutic strategies. More recently, his focus has been on describing the natural history of Alzheimer’s disease as a necessary preparatory step for therapeutic disease modification.


Dr Mohs

Richard Mohs is the Chief Scientific Officer for the Global Alzheimer’s Platform (GAP) Foundation.  He worked for Eli Lilly and Company holding several leadership positions including Vice President for Neuroscience Early Clinical Development (2012-2015) and Leader of the Global Alzheimer’s Drug Development Team (2007-2012).    Dr. Mohs received the Ph.D. is psychology from Stanford University and completed postdoctoral training in pharmacology at the Stanford Medical School.


Dr Small

Gary Small, MD, is the Parlow-Solomon Professor on Aging and Professor of Psychiatry at UCLA, where he directs the Geriatric Psychiatry Division and the UCLA Longevity Center at the Semel Institute for Neuroscience & Human Behavior. His research focuses on early detection and prevention of Alzheimer’s disease, and his group developed the first brain scanning method to detect the physical evidence of Alzheimer's disease in living patients. Dr. Small has received awards from the American Psychiatric Association, American College of Psychiatrists, NIH, the Alzheimer’s Association, and other organizations, and he is the current president of the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry. He has written over 400 scientific works, as well as eight books, including the New York Times best-seller, The Memory Bible. In 2002, Scientific American Magazine named him one of the world’s top 50 innovators in science and technology.